The Date Is Set

March 8, 2007 at 2:31 pm 7 comments

May 23, 2007 will be the birthdate of my second son if all goes as planned. Meaning if I don’t go into labor prior to that. Please please please don’t go into labor. It sucks that I have to pick my sons birthday and have a c-section but due to a prior extensive surgery I am at high risk for uterine rupture so this baby, just like my 1st baby, will be born through a hole in my stomach three weeks early. The doctor actually wanted to go four weeks early this time and I said NO. Three weeks was hard enough on my last little guy – his sucking reflex wasn’t there yet and breastfeeding was a nightmare. But with perseverance and two months working at it we finally got it down. I hope it goes better this time around. For some reason I actually feel positive about it which is an unusual feeling for me to have.

However, I just don’t feel “ready” yet. I’m nervous and a little scared. Having a toddler who keeps me very busy and exhausted makes me wonder how on earth we will adjust. How will my son adjust? I worry about him feeling like he’s not getting his quality mommy time. I worry about the sleepless nights. I don’t do well on no sleep. Last time around I had a few meltdowns where I turned into some crazy person that I didn’t recognize.

Ironic that it took us 8 years to conceive E and this new little guy came along as a complete surprise. We were actually in complete disbelief, scratching our heads trying to figure out how it happened – I said my toddler keeps me busy and exhausted. Eight long years of tears and frustration, eight long years of this adoptee yearning for some biological connection. E happened after we put trying (and the thought of adoption) on hold to search for my first family. E happened right after I met my first mother – no trying, no timing and a picture perfect pregnancy. To me it’s just so obvious that something was healed immediately, something that allowed my genes a future now that I found my genes of the past. And now, this second time around, with it happening so effortlessly, especially at my *cough cough* advanced age and prior history of infertility just assures me yet again that finding my roots allowed me to finally breathe.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Can I Just Get Through A Week? Sooooooo, biologically speaking…..

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. addiepray  |  March 10, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    I’m sure things will go well.

    It is cool the way it’s like your life opened up after you met your first mom.

    Any special reason you picked May23? I’m just curious. I always thought it would be nice to be able to pick your child’s birthday.

    Reply
  • 2. joy21  |  March 10, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Yeah a baby, I am having a baby on May 23rd toooooooo!

    Okay just wishing–

    I love babies.

    I am so glad yours is coming soon!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Possum  |  March 11, 2007 at 2:38 am

    Woo Hoo – a May baby – just like me!!!!
    Very exciting.
    Yeah – and it is very amazing how things fell into place after finding your first mum.
    Biggest hugs, Poss. xx

    Reply
  • 4. dorygirl  |  March 11, 2007 at 2:49 am

    Addie – no, no special reason. My true due date is June 15 but babe has to be delivered 3 weeks early which would be May 26. Dr. only delivers M, W, & F’s – I had wanted to go for the following Monday to give baby a few extra days but that’s Memorial Day and was no good for Dr. so we went with the 23rd, a Wed. so I’ll be discharged from hospital on Sat. when hopefully some family can come for the weekend and help out a bit. Recovering from a c-section while caring for a newborn AND toddler is going to be tough.

    Oh Joy – I wish you were having a baby too!!!

    Thanks Possum – I appreciate the warm wishes.

    Reply
  • 5. Elizabeth  |  March 11, 2007 at 7:24 am

    My best to you that all goes well!

    Reply
  • 6. momseekingpeace  |  March 13, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Hello
    I love the story about how your little one came along after finding your family. I am a firstmom and after 18 years of saying pretty much a mantra “me, no, i dont want kids” after finding my son that changed over night. Thankfully I had time on the clock left and had two more sons. Its amazing what healing takes place.

    Congradulations on your baby on the way.
    MSP

    Reply
  • 7. Chrissy  |  March 16, 2007 at 2:49 am

    Congrats Dory! Wow, a real spring chicken coming! Loving your blog. Hugs, Stewie

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts